prejudice

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by mmartinez17

To start off I just want to say that I really liked what Jay said about people trying to be perfect, but in doing that it stops us from dealing with our inner demons. No one likes to admit that they are wrong or that they are prejudice because people will begin to dislike you. The real question is what truly defines a good person? The answer is complicated, but it is usually what society is able to accept as a norm. I have always been a person trying to strive for perfection, but in doing this I have done things that I now realize were wrong. Accepting that you are wrong will help you become a stronger leader. Prejudice and racism are a part of our lives whether you know it or not. To tell you the truth after working at a restaurant, it has made me prejudice to certain ethnicity groups. Middle eastern people for example are some of the stingiest people alive being that they argue the price of everything down to the last penny. They also expect the best service from you even though they treat you like crap. I began to believe this after encountering this over and over. The same with blacks, they always have something to complain about. Whether it’s about the pizza, the way you look, or even the kind of car your delivery driver drives they always have something to say. They also make false stories about their food being messed up or for some odd reason it is always cold. They do this so that they can get free food, and even if they do this five times in a row with the same person I still have to give them want they want because the customer comes first. So I began thinking bad about them as a whole. Now I realize that a few or many of them do no not represent their entire population as a whole, and it is not fair of me to judge these groups of people based on some of them. I try to be nice to everybody even though some times they are real annoying, and I let the bad side get the best of me. We all mess up though, and I don’t regret it when i do. It is through these experiences that I can learn how to better myself, or even use it and make it into something positive. Judging people is the worst thing you can do because you don’t give them a chance to show you who they really are and what values they hold dear to them. Even though most people don’t look at it from this perspective when it comes down to me, I’m not going to let people that I don’t even know affect who I am. In truth, you don’t know who is who until they are placed in a major situation that may or may not involve you. I believe in never losing or forgeting who you are. Make adjusments when needed, and if you see an oppurtunity to better yourself then take it. Living a life without discriminating others is one less thing to worry about, and will help your relationships with others grow over time. In order to be a good leader you have to be someone that can relate not just to one ethnic group, but multiple groups if not all.Being able to engage with your own faults is actually one of the biggest strengths a person can possess, and will help you set an example for others.

Leave a Reply

