Nobody’s Perfect

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by emagallanes1

We cannot characterize somebody as a good person by a single good deed that they do. In order for somebody to be recognized as a good person, they need to do their best as a human being every single day. Therefore, being a good person is not a characteristic, but a practice. In the video, Jay mentions that we must engage with our imperfections in order to become a good person.

When people engage with their imperfections, they recognize and accept their problems as an individual. It is important for leaders to engage with their prejudice imperfections in order not to be bias towards any group. Jay mentions that prejudices are developed without noticing it, and many times inevitably. But, if leaders were to overcome these prejudices, then they’ll be insured a better spot. Leaders need to realize that if they have many prejudices against different racial groups, then they can and probably will lose the support of those groups.

I didn’t really consider myself a Democrat until I got to high school. This is when I started to actually care about politics. The stereotype that I had up until my Junior year in high school was that I thought that all Caucasians were Republicans. My AP Government class sure did to fit this stereotype. I was the only Hispanic in the classroom, while the majority of the students were white. They all seemed very conservative in their views about immigration and other issues. So, I thought I had a good excuse to categorize most Caucasians as Republicans. This stereotype that I had then caused me to be less outgoing with Caucasians.

This all changed when I met Tiffany, a really cool Caucasian girl. I became very close to Tiffany, regardless of her skin color and the stereotype I had against her race. One day, Tiffany gave me a ride home that caused me to erase the stereotype I had against Caucasians. She had a Democratic bumper sticker on her car! I even double-checked, and asked if it was her car and her bumper sticker. It turned out to be hers. I don’t exactly remember what it said, but they important part here is that it was a Democratic bumper sticker. That’s when I erased all my prejudices and stereotypes about whether or not Caucasians were Republican. Now that I look at things, I can’t believe I ever even made this inaccurate assumption.

As a leader, I do acknowledge that I would have to keep as most stereotypes and prejudices out of my head in order not to be bias towards a certain group. But, I will also have to realize that I do have imperfections that I will have to work with.

Leave a Reply

