Hannah Montana, Mistakes, and White People…

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by chrystalferreira

Miley Cyrus AKA Hannah Montana sings in one of her songs “Everybody makes mistakes, everybody has those days… Nobody is perfect, you live and you learn it.” Yes, I know this song is childish, but the lyrics are true. I’ve learned that no matter, who you are, what you do, and how you present yourself NO ONE is perfect. One of my biggest imperfections is beating myself up about a mistake I’ve made in the past; I am the kind of person that dwells on minor mishaps, whether they be on an exam or in a presentation. I will replay the moments over and over in my mind and think of different scenarios of how the situation could have ended differently. Strangely enough, I believe this helps my leadership skills because I will try my hardest not to make the same mistakes again, but at the same time I do not want to be the kind of leader to lead others into doing this same thing.

Now on the topic of a group or identity I haven’t interacted with and the stereotype I have about them, to be completely honest I have never believed that white or Caucasian people have a define culture. As we have discussed before, I believe that being Latino is comprised of culture, of heritage, and pride, but I have never thought of Americans this way. Yes, I do firmly believe that Americans have a strong sense of pride, but as far as culture… this country is based on a melting pot of other cultures.  This really impacted my impacted my leadership skills because I know I could always appeal to Latinos, but how would I appeal to white people? Then I had to reconsider my beliefs; I redefined culture in a sense that would appeal to all people. I came to the conclusion that we all have a culture, because culture is based off of our traditions, how we interact within our own group of people, and what we pass down from generation to generation and that is something all people have regardless of their background.

To wrap this all up, I had to remind myself that we are all human, we all make mistakes, and we can all relate to each other in one way or another. Its all about the way you talk about things rather than talking about who and what you are.

 

 

Leave a Reply

