“Everyone makes mistakes”

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 by gmayra

“The possibility that you made a mistake, and none of us takes that too well, none of us, enjoys that,” Jay Smooth declared in his presentation. Likewise I have never encountered a moment in which I enjoyed making a mistake. Although I do not find it pleasant, I know “everyone makes mistakes,,” which lightens the unpleasantness. Therefore being a good person is not a characteristic like Smooth mentioned, but a practice.

Learning from each mistake and analyzing the mistakes so it does not reoccur assists becoming a better person. Engaging from our imperfections, in regard to prejudices, impact us as leaders. I acknowledge the fact that I have had prejudice thoughts and ideas over certain communities and customs. My ignorance of learning additional information about these communities and customs narrowed my mind. However as I have grown as a person and leader. Through engaging with my imperfections I have become not only a better person but also a more open-minded heart and mind. I have learned to respect each individual for what they practice and what they have.

For instance about two years ago, I was speaking to my boyfriend and some friends about my peer leader associates about calling them all “black”. Although I was never caught calling them “black” one of the girls from the group spoke about the subject. She exclaimed how they were not all “black” and how they districted themselves as Nigerians. Even though both characterizations sounded the same to me, she continued to explain her point of view, which opened my mind to the distinct customs they had on one another. From then on I realized the value of each individuals customs and communities. Flaws like the one I had on Nigerians and “blacks” has helped me improve as a leader, to understand the differences and learn about them, to not make the same mistakes again. To never confuse the culture of Japanese and Chinese people; to never assume Buddhism and Daoism have the same ideas or that Africans are all dark, without looking beyond stereotypes.

Leave a Reply

