SRSLY?

Leave a comment

October 3, 2012 by chrystalferreira

I cannot fathom Ann Coulter’s train of thought as she made the idiotic remark that civil rights are for blacks, as if civil rights are exclusive, as if she makes the decision what group of people are allowed certain rights. To be completely honest, she sounded like Karen from Mean Girls… Unfortunately Anne Coulter is known for her “conservative political opinions and the controversial ways in which she defends them.” She has been quoted describing herself as a polemicist and is known for stirring up the pot. So, in fewer words my initial reaction to the video was ‘IS SHE SERIOUS? ON TV? YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME…”

According to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy civil rights are the rights that constitute free and equal citizenship and include personal, political, and economic rights. My very basic definition of civil rights is the right of citizens in their everyday life regardless of their race, gender, economic standing, or legal status. Civil rights do not only pertain to one group of people because no one has the right to limit others’ rights. Especially in the racial perspective, not even Anne Coulter can tell me that I don’t deserve my civil rights because I am a Latina and the United States does not owe me anything. The fact of the matter is, I don’t believe the United States owes me my rights, but I do firmly believe that I have just as many civil rights as anyone else no matter the race.

The legacy of immigration in this country holds a negative connotation, especially in modern day with immigrants constantly being referred to as aliens. From my understanding, the United States was built on the European ideals and soon after incorporated all other races as slaves and lesser citizens. In short all of our ancestors endured hardships whether they were Black, Hispanic, or European. The United States can not isolate itself from the rest of the world hence immigration will always be an avid issue in society, we will always have to deal with the repercussions and negative comments about our people and how we are not equal.

Leave a Reply

