Spanish? Does it make you legit?

Leave a comment

September 19, 2012 by itzy18

As the years have gone by, I have been able to learn both languages, Spanish and English. That was done through my father’s strict law at my house: NO ENGLISH IN THE HOUSE. At first, I thought it was silly but now I’m pretty glad that my father did that. I enjoy having the knowledge of both languages and I would not change it for anything else.

Although my family was strict about our home language, I came to realize during the past years that it was not the same for all Hispanic households. For example, one of my best friends from high school does not know Spanish. She understands it very well but when she tries to speak it, her Spanish is rather “choppy”. Despite her lack of knowledge on the language, she is still a Mexican. Many have stated that if you don’t know Spanish you are not considered Latino. I would have to disagree with that statement. Natalie Moreno, my friend, still manages to understand and get a good grasp on the Latino culture. No matter where she goes, she defends and embraces her Latino culture. Her and her family still have the same Latino traditions that my family practice. We prepare the same food, were brought up the same way, and still have the ” NO boyfriend until you are 30″ strict Hispanic law hovering over us.

Yes, she is not fluent in Spanish but her Latino blood still roams among her veins. She still acknowledges her ancestors and maintains the typical Latino traditions. On the other hand, knowing Spanish does help you become more involved with your culture. For instance, I go to Mexico at least twice a year to visit family and every time I learn something new. I know I would of struggled if I didn’t know the language. Also, since my parents only knew Spanish they embraced the language and the culture in my brothers and I. Either how, Spanish is only a part of who we, Latinos are. Although Spanish is part of the Latino culture, it does not define who you are. You are either a bilingual Latino or one who is not.

What defines if you are a Latino or not depends on you. You can go head in and enjoy it by embracing it’s beauty and traditions or just be a lame “other culture wanna be”. I have run across other Hispanic students that pretend to not know Spanish and be ashamed of being considered a Hispanic. To those people, I say one thing: Get over it, you are what you are and you can’t hide your skin tone!

Leave a Reply

